Serious Facts About Gluten, and Top Gluten-Free Food

Gluten Free Main

Before tackling the gluten-free diet, let’s get to know what is Gluten first? Gluten is a specific type of protein, but not the protein found in meat or eggs. It’s found in wheat, rye, and barley. Following a gluten-free diet means avoiding these grains.

Why Gluten should be avoided

Gluten can be dangerous, it causes gut inflammation in at least 80% of people. And only 30% of people develop antibodies against gluten protein in the gut.

Gluten consists of two types of protein, gliadin and glutenin. The gliadin is what people usually react negatively to. When gluten reaches the intestine, the cells of the immune system mistakenly think that the gluten is coming from some sort of foreign bacteria. Then the danger here, is that the immune system of people who are sensitive to gluten attacks it and the intestinal wall as well.

Add to your information that over 80% of people with sensitive immune system don’t even know that they have it.

Here’s a list of the top gluten free food that you should include in your diet

Healthy fat: virgin olive oil, sesame oil, coconut oil, and organic butter, almond milk, avocados, coconuts, olives nuts and nut butters, cheese (except for blue cheeses), and seeds.

can_you_live_without_cooking_oil

Protein: whole eggs; salmon, sardines, shellfish and mollusks, shrimp, crab, clams, oysters, grass-fed meat, fowl, poultry.

Salmon Teriyaki

Vegetables: leafy greens and lettuces, collards, spinach, broccoli, kale, chard, cabbage, onions, mushrooms, cauliflower, Brussels sprouts, sauerkraut, artichoke, alfalfa sprouts, green beans, celery, radishes, watercress, turnip, asparagus, garlic, leek, fennel, shallots, scallions, ginger, parsley, water chestnuts.

onion-and-garlic

Low-sugar Fruit: avocado, bell peppers, cucumber, tomato, zucchini, squash, pumpkin, eggplant, lemons, limes.

TunaAndAvocado

Herbs, Seasonings, and Condiments: You can go wild here as long as you watch labels. No ketchup, no chutney, but enjoy mustard, horseradish, tapenade, and salsa if they are free of gluten, wheat, soy, and sugar. There are no restrictions on herbs and seasonings.

 

 

Add Review
Sending
User Review
0 (0 votes)

Comments

comments